We are pleased to announce the following judges for 2017:

Denise Massey
Energy Innovation Centre

 Denise is the Managing Director of the Energy Innovation Centre which was founded in 2008 and has grown from a publicly grant funded organisation to a not for profit business which is a partnership between gas & electricity networks and the Energy Systems Catapult. The Energy Innovation Centre drives collaborative innovation between energy networks and innovators that has a potential to benefit customers, the industry and the supply chain. This activity is intrinsically linked to the creation of our future energy system. Over the last few years the Energy Innovation Centre has grown from providing a gateway to SMEs to now delivery projects with a strategic view. The business fosters collaboration and partnerships across many stakeholders and it supports both gas & electricity energy networks in stepping up to the challenge of innovation with the support of a growing innovation community of 2000 SMEs who are based both in the UK and internationally.

Tony Smith
Consumer Council for Water

Tony joined the Consumer Council for Water in December 2005 as Chief Executive. Since it was set up, CCWater has tried to encourage water companies, their regulators and government to make sure that the industry and the way it is regulated is fully focused on customers and their needs. His early career was in strategy and marketing, implementing business turnarounds in oil, aerospace, automotive and fast moving consumer goods businesses. Later Tony joined the utility sector where he has worked at senior level in electricity and as a director in the water industry and the rail sector.  During his career in the utilities, he has led corporate strategy, corporate services and stakeholder relations, customer service, investment programme and PFI procurement and delivery and competitive market business development. His last job was with Ofwat, as Director of Competition and Consumer Affairs, where he was responsible for consumer issues in the lead up to and through the 2004 price review.

Lynn Cooper
Institute of Water

Lynn has been with the Institute of Water since 1997, first as General Secretary, then becoming Chief Executive in 2007. Prior to that Lynn worked as an accountant at Sunderland and South Shields Water Company which later became North East Water and ultimately Northumbrian Water. Lynn is a Founder Director of the Society for the Environment, where she served as Treasurer for 8 years, and a trustee of Utilities and Service Industries Training Limited – a charity providing grants and bursaries for education and training. A qualified accountant (CPFA), Lynn is also a Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv), an Honorary Member of the Institute of Water and an Honorary Fellow of the Society for the Environment.

Victoria MacGregor
Citizens Advice

Victoria MacGregor joined Citizens Advice as the Director of Energy in July 2016. She was previously Chief Officer of Citizens Advice Dacorum, in Hertfordshire, responsible for all aspects of running the charity and leading its team of staff and volunteers. Prior to this Victoria spent 12 years at EDF Energy, where, as Head of Public Affairs, she developed and led the energy company’s political engagement and influencing work. Victoria has also worked in advertising and marketing and is currently a Non Executive Director of Smart Energy GB.

Nick Ellins
EU Skills Group

Nick Ellins is the Chief Executive of Energy and Utility Skills and the National Skills Academy for Power. Previously Nick held the posts of Director of Policy for the Rail Delivery Group rail strategy body and was the Director of Policy for the Association of Train Operating Companies. Prior to this, Nick had over 25 years’ experience in the utility industry, working in a variety of management roles across commercial, operational and UK and European policy areas. Nick was Deputy Chief Executive of the statutory consumer body, the Consumer Council for Water, Head of Consumer Strategy and a policy adviser at Water UK, National Sales and Marketing Manager for a global supply-chain company and its contracting organisation and Frameworks Manager, leading bids for utility supply contracts. Nick is a Member and twice Past-President for the Institute of Water, a Freeman of the City of London and a Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Plumbers.

Paul Fidler
Energy Networks Association

Paul took up the role of Director of Operations for ENA in April 2013 looking after Engineering, Standards, Future Networks, Smart Metering and Safety, Health and Environment. He has over 25 years’ experience in the electricity network industry, with 20 of those working for ScottishPower in various operational, design and asset management roles where he was instrumental in introducing Condition Based Maintenance techniques for 11kV and 33kV switchgear. He joined ENA in April 2011 as Engineering Development Manager liaising with all network operators on matters associated with R&D and Smarter Networks including Heat Pumps and Electric Vehicles and he leads on the LCN Fund Conference and proposed Smart Networks Catalogues within the LCN Fund and Work Stream 5 frameworks. Paul also looks after street work matters and sits on the National Joint Utilities Group board as Safety and Policy Director. He holds a MSC (Distinction) in Electricity Management and Technology.

Ian McCluskey

Ian McCluskey is the Head of Technical Services for the Institution of Gas Engineer and Managers (IGEM), responsible for the management and facilitation of the development, production and sale of technical standards and is the current Chair of the Scottish Section of Gas Engineers. Since graduating from Robert Gordon University Aberdeen with an Engineering Degree, Ian has gone on to have a successful and varied career in the gas industry. From working offshore, to joining a gas company graduate training programme with the goal of becoming a Chartered Engineer, his experience encompasses both the upstream and downstream sectors of the industry including working for Shell managing Health and Safety and Gas Production Facilities in the UK. Ian sits on the Board of the Gas Industry Safety Group and is a member of the All Party Parliamentary Carbon Monoxide Group. Ian has been a judge on several recent events including the IGEM Young Persons Paper Competition, Utility Week Awards and European Smart Energy Awards.

Dr Stuart Hawksworth
Health and Safety Laboratory

Stuart is an internationally renowned expert in innovative energy technologies. He works across Energy and Major Hazard industries to enable safe and innovative solutions. Together with his team, a particular focus of his work is on adapting and improving current power generation technologies to achieve a low carbon future for the UK and overseas. As a PhD physicist, he started his career working for the UK’s Health and Safety regulator in the area of gas, spray and dust explosions; more recent work includes leading investigations of major incidents (for instance ICL Plastics) and developing the portfolio of hydrogen technology activities at HSL.  His current focus is on collaborative research projects with industry, and working in partnership on a number of ongoing projects such as the OFGEM funded HyDeploy project and the Energy Technologies Institute High Hydrogen project.

Mark Smith